Website Sponsored By

Group Sponsored By

Meet the Committee

The South and West Wales Safety Group has a managing committee headed by a President. In addition an ex officio member represents the Health & Safety Executive. The committee members all have long-standing experience in the field of health and safety in the workplace. 

The officers of the committee are:

Claire Williams

Claire leads the health, safety and environment team at Aberystwyth University having a wide-range of previous working experience from local authority, housing association and manufacturing environments.

Having experienced the challenges faced in many organisations of delivering sensible risk management and a balanced approach through demanding times, Claire relies on a friendly approachable style, engaging colleagues to discuss their hazards and control measures, enabling them to continue creating and innovating safely through their roles. Recognising people are crucial to the health, safety and wellbeing programme, any organisation cannot achieve a positive safety culture without them.


As an Executive Committee member since 2007, Claire has supported and promoted the group’s annual programme and seminars through the development of the group’s social media profiles and is proud to be the first female chair.


Secretary: Ann Jones MBE

Recipient of the Maurice Adamson Award

11 King George Court, Sketty, Swansea SA2 8AR

Ann was the Safety Officer at Swansea University from 1984 until she took early retirement in 2002, when she became a safety consultant, which she continues to be to the present day. 

She has been the secretary of the then Swansea and West Wales Occupational Safety Group, now South and West Wales Safety Group for more than thirty years. In 2010 she was the first recipient of the Maurice Adamson Award for the greatest personal contribution to the Occupational Safety Groups movement. In 2012 she was awarded an MBE for services to occupational safety in south Wales.


Sheree is a  Chartered member of IOSH (Institute of Safety and Occupational Health) and is a  panel member for the Peer Review. A committee member and treasurer of the Group for many years.

Qualified member  of IEMA  (Institute of Environmental Management and Assessment).

Has been employed with the same manufacturing company for the last 15 years. An EHS Manager providing EHS leadership to the company site by ensuring compliance with applicable (EU, UK and local) environmental and occupational safety regulatory requirements as well as company policies through, where applicable, the creation, implementation, maintenance and auditing of compliance-related policies and procedures, and administration of assigned programs in co-ordination with other functional areas.

Committee Members:

President: The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor of the City & County of Swansea

Vice President: Phill Jones

Joint Vice Chair: Kay Barnes

Joint Vice Chair: Scott McKinnon

Assistant Secretary: Vacant 


Sarah Cassledine
Debbie Chegwen
Ian Davies
Nina Dicataldo
Tracy Dicataldo
Wayne Holmes
Del Hastings
Nigel Hill
Rex Jensen
Andy Langford
Ceri Rees
Phil Rees